bugatti type 35
                        The Bugatti Type 35

The original model of Bugatti type 35 was introduced at Grand Prix of Lyon on August 3, 1924.

The Type 35 was the most successful of the Bugatti racing models. Its version of the Bugatti arch-shaped radiator that had evolved from the more architectural one of the Bugatti Type 13 Brescia, was to become the one that the marque is most known for. Though even in the ranks of the various Type 35s there were variations on the theme.

It was phenomenally successful, winning over 1,000 races in its time. It took the Grand Prix World Championship in 1926 after winning 351 races and setting 47 records in two prior years. At its height, Type 35s averaged 14 race wins per week. Bugatti won the Targa Florio for five consecutive years, from 1925 to 1929, with the Type 35.

Bugatti Type 35: Engine build up

bugatti type 35 engine
                  Engine of Bugatti Type 35

The bugatti type 35 used an evolution of the three-valve 2.0 L (1991 cc/121 inch³) overhead cam straight-eight engine first seen on the Type 29. Bore was 60 mm and stroke was 88 mm as on many previous Bugatti models. 96 units were produced.

This new powerplant featured five main bearings with an unusual ball bearing system. This allowed the engine to rev to 6,000 rpm, and 90 hp (67 kW) was reliably produced. Solid axles with leaf springs were used front and rear, and drum brakes at the back, operated by cables, were specified. Alloy wheels were a novelty, as was the hollow front axle for reduced unsprung weight. A second feature of the Type 35 that was to become a Bugatti trademark was passing the springs through the front axle rather than simply U-bolting them together as was done on their earlier cars.

A rare version was de-bored (to 52 mm) for a total displacement of 1.5 L (1494 cc/91 inch³). There are 2 of these cars in New Zealand.

Bugatti Type 35: Dimensions 

  • Length: 3680 mm (144.9 in)
  • Width: 1320 mm (52 in)
  • Wheelbase: 2400 mm (94.5 in)
  • Track: 1200 mm (47.2 in)
  • Weight: 750 kg (1650 lb)

Bugatti Type 35: Models

Various different models of type 35 were released :

bugatti type 35a
        Bugatti Type 35A Grand Prix racer 1925

Type 35A

A less expensive version of the Type 35 appeared in May, 1925. The factory’s “Type 35A” name was ignored by the public, who nicknamed it “Tecla” after a famous maker of imitation jewelry. The Tecla’s engine used three plain bearings, smaller valves, and coil ignition like the Type 30. While this decreased maintenance requirements, it also reduced output. 139 units of the Type 35As were sold.


bugatti type 35c
        Bugatti Type 35C Grand Prix racer 1926

Type 35C

The Type 35C featured a Roots supercharger, despite Ettore Bugatti’s disdain for forced induction. Output was nearly 128 hp (95 kW) with a single Zenith carburettor. Type 35Cs won the French Grand Prix at Saint-Gaudens in 1928, and at Pau in 1930. 50 units left the factory.


bugatti type 35t
                      Bugatti 35T Targa Florio

Type 35T

In 1926, Bugatti introduced a special model for the Targa Florio race. Called the “Type 35T” officially, it soon became known as the “Targa Florio”. Engine displacement was up to 2.3 L (2262 cc/138 in³) with a longer 100 mm stroke. Grand Prix rule changes limiting capacity to 2.0 L limited the appeal of this model at the time with just thirteen produced. Bugatti is ‘world champion of cars builders’ this year.


type 35b
        Bugatti Type 35B Grand Prix racer 1929

Type 35B

The final version of the Type 35 series was the Type 35B of 1927. Originally named “Type 35TC“, it shared the 2.3 L engine of the Type 35T but added a large supercharger like the Type 35C. Output was 138 hp (102 kW), and 45 units were made. A British racing green Type 35B driven by William Grover-Williams won the 1929 French Grand Prix at Le Mans.

Bugatti Type 35: Race victories 

Year Race Motorist Model
1925 Targa Florio Bartolomeo Costantini Type 35
1926 Targa Florio Bartolomeo Costantini Type 35T
1927 Targa Florio Emilio Materassi Type 35C
1928 French Grand Prix William Grover-Williams Type 35C
  Targa Florio Albert Divo Type 35B
  Moroccan Grand Prix Edward Meyer Type 35C
1929 French Grand Prix William Grover-Williams Type 35B
  German Grand Prix Louis Chiron Type 35C
  Monaco Grand Prix William Grover-Williams Type 35B
  Targa Florio Albert Divo Type 35C
1930 Belgian Grand Prix Louis Chiron Type 35C
  Czechoslovakian Grand Prix Heinrich-Joachim von Morgen and Hermann zu Leiningen Type 35B
  French Grand Prix Philippe Étancelin Type 35C
  Monaco Grand Prix René Dreyfus Type 35B





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here